ganesha logo natalcharts logo




Vedic Astrology and why it is called so 


Predictions for Individuals
 Concerning Relationships
Computer Horoscope
Gemstones & Yantra
Other Services & Downloads

Conditions for Use

Privacy Notice

Site Map

©, All rights reserved Best viewed at 1024x768 on Internet Explorer


Vedic Astrology and why it is called so

by Anuj Bahl


There are some people who refrain from calling astrology, as practiced by Hindus, as “Vedic”. They have some contentions regarding the same which are mostly based on the argument that the Vedas do not contain “astrology”. This argument is not exactly correct but instead of contending this argument, a simpler logic will prove Astrology as “Vedic”.

Astrology and Veda

For astrology to be called Vedic it may or may not be present in the Vedas. The very character of Astrology is Vedic and it follows the teachings as presented in the Vedas. In this regard, Astrology is Vedic.

The word “Vedic” does not only refer to the period when Vedas were written. The word “Vedic” refers to that which follows the Vedas. Considering that Hindus follow the Vedas, the correct name for a Hindu should be Vedic or Vaidikas.

Like the culture that is based on the teachings of the Vedas is a Vedic Culture, similarly the astrology governed by the thinking and understanding of the Vedas, is “Vedic”.

Now let us understand how Astrology follows some of the teachings of the Veda.

Jyotish (Hindu or Vedic Astrology) as a Vedanga

Vedanga refers to those bodies of knowledge that are the "limbs" to the Vedas. In other words, it aids in understanding of the Vedas.

It would be important to understand what Vedas are. The word "Veda" means knowledge. Vedas contain aphorisms to understand the true identity of ourselves. Many people think Vedas are part of Hindu Religion. It would correct to say that Hindu Religion has adopted itself from the Vedas. Vedas are universal and came before the word "Hindu" came into being.

Jyotish is a Vedanga and in its approach it follows the Vedic teaching. Jyotish cannot go against the Vedas in its teaching or analysis.

Jyotish follows the principle of freedom of choice. It gives individuals the right to choose in any given situation. The choices always available to an individual in any given situation of life are:

1. To react (anger, jealousy, envy, fear, fight, arrogance, likes, dislikes, etc.)
2. To pro act (do one's action as required by the call of duty, without involving oneself in the above reactions).
3. Remain calm without any action (Realizing the results are given by the lord, and accepting them without any reaction)

The 2nd choice has all the elements of the 3rd choice. Jyotish as a subject never undermines these choices. With these choices, one can change one's future. With the first choice, one can enhance the difficulties in one's destiny and with, the second and third choice; one can enhance the quality of destiny in happiness and success. Each time you make the 2nd or 3rd choice, you weaken the reactions within yourself. Over a period of time, you stop reacting at all. Jyotish understands this principle and employs it.

Jyotish never promises a pre destined life. Mother, father, brother, sister may be predestined but not your future. Your future depends upon the choices.

Astrology & Surrender

Astrology understands the concept of surrender. It understands that the actions are in the hands of the doer, while the results are in the hands of the Lord (Ishvara). Prayers to the lord for desirable results are a part of remedial measures in Astrology. Remedial measures are, most often than not, recognition of a power much greater than us, which dictates the results.

Astrology: As a Spiritual Guide

Astrology can be a source of spiritual guidance. In Hindu or vedic astrology, planets are called “grahas”. The meaning of a graha is “to seize”. In other words, they seize us into their web and lend reality to thoughts and desires. Their nature, position, association, aspect, etc. determine the nature of thoughts and desires and possible actions. They represent the misinterpretation of the Reality.

Give the above, astrology can be used to find out what thinking patterns, desires and expectations bind the individual. One can analyze how the individual is caught up in the web of “Maya”.

If we see, different grahas (planets) give the following identifications within one self and consequent binding:

Sun: the appearance to the ego as consciousness separate from the wholeness, as if ego possesses the consciousness. The position of Sun in a house and a sign may cause Sun to "arrest" itself by the very my thought it illumines. Like Sun is clouded by the very cloud it illumines.

Moon: identification with the mind and all the emotions arising there from: give rise to the multiplicity and raises the pair of opposites.

Mars: identification with ambition, power, conflict and desire.

Mercury: identification with the intellect: takes one part of the Reality as right and other as wrong and so on increases its identification. No wonder it is the son of Moon.

Jupiter: identification with the values, memory and society.

Venus: identification with beauty and physical aspects of nature.

Saturn: identification with sorrow and pain and lends reality to the same.

Rahu-Ketu: identification with the future and the past, thus lending reality to the concept of time.

End Notes

In this regard, Astrology, as practiced by Hindus, is Vedic contrary to many beliefs and arguments.